The word "app" is short for “application.” Application, in this case, refers to a software application or a software program.
An app is a special type of software program. An app typically refers to software used on a smartphone or mobile device such as the Android, iPhone, BlackBerry or iPad, as in “mobile app” or “iPhone app.”
You can think of an app as being a “shortened” or narrow software application, that usually serves just one function or provides a small bit of entertainment. There are many different classifications of Mobile apps. Some examples include productivity or business, web access, entertainment, education, time management, and eReaders.
|
|
Mendeley is a reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others, and conduct research. Download the app to go with the desktop and web versions. |
 |
Evernote lets you organize your life with notes and to-do lists you can access anywhere. Download the app from the iPhone, Droid, Windows Phone Marketplace, or Blackberry app store, or access the website. |
 |
Dropbox automatically backs up your documents and allows you to access them from anywhere. Download the app from the Windows Phone, iPhone, Droid, or Blackberry app store, or visit their site: |
|
Notes Notes keeps track of your notes to yourself on your iPad, iPhone and Mac, simply sign in to see your note or to create more. (No Link: Comes Standard with iPad)
|
|
|
Reminders Reminders lets you set notes on events and other information and then allows you to set an alarm so that you will remember them. You can always set a reminder so you will remember when to return the libraries iPad to the desk! (No Link: Comes standard with iPad)
|
|
|
Calendar Calendar is an app that seamlessly stores your events across your iPhone, iPad and Mac computer.
|
|
 |
The original handwriting app for iPad, iPod and Mac. Also available for Andriod |
 |
Find My iPad A GPS locater to help track and find any iDevice. |
 |
An alternative to the Safari app, another web browser for smooth fast web browsing. (Chrome my contain adult content)
|
 |
An app for accessing your Google Drive documents and forms. |
 |
Find your way using this handy GPS driven mapping system. Pick your route by car, public transit or on foot.
|
 |
View your Prezi or a friends using this app! |
|
Create stunning mind maps that flow, instantly share them with professors, friends and more!
|
 |
My Cayuga HD Get into your college email, get updates and more with the My Cayuga HD app! |
|
Look up any word you can think of using this handy dictionary, already preloaded on the iPad. |
|
|
EasyBib is a quick and easy way to create MLA, APA or Chicago Style Citations. Just scan the books baracode and begin, or input the information to get the citation! |
|
 |
Explore the world from the palm of your hand with Google Earth. |
 |
Learn almost anything for free. Learn from experts all over the world through video and text. |
|
iResearch was created to allow the user to read AIP article content offline and store articles locally. The application caches all content that it receives, and does require a wireless or wifi connection to obtain the content initially and to subsequently update that content. |
|
|
Pubget for iPad delivers PubMed and full text journal articles straight to your iPad! Read them as PDFs on the spot or save them to take on the go. |
|
|
iCite formats an extensive range of traditional and new media sources in APA 6th edition style. iCite automatically punctuates and formats citations from easy-to-use forms. Users also have free access to WorldCat search. |
|
|
The arXiv, hosted at arXiv.org by the Cornell University Library, stores over a half million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Nonlinear Sciences, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics. |
|
|
The Cornell Arxiv App collects and delivers the latest scientific works and papers on Physics, Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Sciences, Quantitative Biology and Finance from arXiv.org in a convenient mobile package right on your iPad. Recommended for scientists, PhD students and students. |
|
|
iSSRN is a must have for anyone interested in the social sciences and now, humanities. Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of scholarly research. Imagine having instant access to the world’s best authors and their cutting edge research literally at your fingertips. |
|
|
ACS Mobile provides readers with a search-able, multi-journal, up-to-the-minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research content (Articles ASAP) published across the Society's preeminent portfolio of scholarly research journals, including the flagship Journal of the American Chemical Society. |
|
|
A color coded periodic table of elements that includes the name, density, electronic configuration, atomic number, melting point and much more of the elements! |
 |
Check out eBooks from around the country or just outside your back door. Overdrive Media Console allows you access to thousands of eBooks and audio books from your local libraries.
|
|
For reading both free and paid books on the go! The kindle app is free, read anywhere via your mobile device or Google Chrome. |
|
|
Free books offers over 23,000 classic book titles to iPad users. Free books utilizes Google Books and other free sites to offer a wide variety and collection. |
|
|
iBooks is a handy application that lets you download books from the iStore and other locations so you can read on your iPad or on your iPhone |
|
|
The Nook on your iPad! Enjoy your Nook collection on the iPad with your Barns and Noble ID. |
|
|
Newsstand Newsstand is where your newspaper subscriptions can be found. Within this section CCC currently has: The New York Times & Times Union
|
|
 |
Enjoy Overdrive and EBSCO ebooks using this handy app and an Adobe ID. |
 |
An app that allows you to listen to audiobooks on the go download your book and listen anywhere! |
|
ICDL - International Childrens Digital Library The International Children's Digital Library (ICDL) brings a worldwide collection of children's books to the iPhone. The largest collection of its kind, the ICDL spans the globe with thousands of children's books from 60 countries, in a wide assortment of beautiful languages with captivating illustrations. Meet the six Mongolian brothers in search of |
|
iTunes is the Apple music store, ping social network and iTunes U application all in one. Use this application to research other university professors speeches or just to hear your favorite music. |
|
|
Shazam is a music app that helps you not only listen to your favorite music, but also helps the user identify music and buy it! |
|
|
Pandora is a music streaming application that allows the user to log in and create stations based on the songs or artists they input. |
|
|
Music This app allows the user to stream and play music on the iPad. |
|
View millions of videos from public as well as private sources. Find anything from how to fix your car to video book reviews, or just watch your favorite episode of... |
|
|
Videos Check out the videos that iPad has to offer as well as the iTunes store. See videos created by library staff and students to help you navigate and use the iPad more easily! (Videos is a preloaded app on all iPads) |
|
|
Thousands of videos at your fingertips. From Hollywood hits to videos of your favorite music artists. |
|
|
Log in with your Netflix account and access your streaming movie library on the iPad! |
|
Qrafter for ipad is a simply QR Code reader and creator. Follow the codes around the library to get more information on a collection or site. |
|
 |
Studying on the go has never been this easy! Long recognized as the best free flashcard app on the market, gFlash+ offers users a robust platform for creating, downloading, and manipulating flashcards in every subject under the sun. This latest release is jam-packed with new features including in-app access to premium content from leading
|
|
Graphing Calculator is a powerful function plotter and scientific calculator.
|
|
|
SyncPad enables users to easily collaborate and share documents in real- time with other people independently from where they are. With Syncpad, you can share your ideas with tens of people just as easily as you would with one person. It works whether you are presenting to someone sitting a few feet away or across the globe.
|
|
|
his application provides an interface to the free Google Translate API for many languages including Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Spanish and Vietnamese. |
|
National Public Radio app give you the freedom to listen to NPR live and streaming or listen to past episodes! |
|
|
An app with all your news from USA Today, including popular stories, videos, and the general news of the day. |
|
|
CNN is your source for world and local news. Stories from politics & elections to celebrities and weather. |
Have a favorite app that would be useful for your peers? Submit a link below to recommend its inclusion into this research guide. You may also send a direct message to CCC Library Reference Staff.
We welcome your suggestion(s)!
| MedScape is an app that allows users to access medical references with ease. Over 7,000 drug references , 6,000 generic and brand name drugs, as well as 1,000+ generic and brand over-the-counter (OTC) drugs as well as herbal supplements are indexed and categorized. | |
| The Skyscape Medical Resources app is used by more than 1 million health-care professionals (HCPs) to access the medical resources they know and trust at the point of care. This valuable decision-support tool helps physicians, nurses, students and other HCPs find the right answers, right away. | |
|
Learn about the cell and all its structures using our new 3D Cell iPhone application tool. Enjoy the ability to rotate the cell 360 degrees and zoom in on any cell structure. Visit the cell structure screen and learn more about how each structure functions. |
|
|
FREE, native app access to MEDLINE/PubMed, full-text journals, and Grapherence. |
|
|
Centicity Radiology Mobile Access Centricity Radiology Mobile Access (CRMA) helps you support secure, efficient healthcare delivery with true anytime, anywhere access to images and reports from Centricity PACS or Centricity Enterprise Archive (EA). |
|
|
Drug Information contains the industry’s most comprehensive drug information and is backed by the same thorough, unbiased editorial process as Micromedex |
|
|
Use Epocrates to: -Review drug prescribing and safety information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC drugs
 |
|
|
The latest medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice, from the most trusted name in medicine - The New England Journal of Medicine. |
|
|
he Mobile MIM software program is used for the viewing, registration, fusion, and/or display for diagnosis of medical images from the following modalities: SPECT, PET, CT, MRI, X-ray and Ultrasound. |
|
Come explore with NASA in the palm of your hand.
|
|
|
National Parks from National Geographic National Geographic presents an award winning, new, beautiful, and interactive guide to twenty of the most-visited U.S. national parks with a new app for iPhone and iPad. Whether you are seeking inspiration and planning your next trip or you’re looking for the ultimate in utility. |
|
|
This companion app for the popular new exhibition Creatures of Light: Nature's Bio-luminescence offers a close look at some of the extraordinary organisms that produce light. Enjoy interactive animations, photo galleries, and videos that reveal the beauty of this amazing natural phenomenon, how it works, and how scientists study it. |
|
|
Tap into the great outdoors with NatureTap, the only nature app that lets you swipe, flip and tap your way through hundreds of birds, bugs, frogs and flowers. And challenge yourself with fun and exciting games. |
|
|
Need help choosing your classes this semester? Want to give feedback on a professor you've had before? With more than 10 million comments on over 1 million professors at 6,000+ schools across the United States, Rate My Professors is the leading source of professor ratings based on feedback straight from students. |
|
|
Want a cool new innovative way to take notes? Use this handy app and discover new ways to edit notes and pictures, and then share them the world over with friends and family! |
 |
Use this mobile app to access all of our EBSCO databases! |
 |
Access my Gale Library is now mobile. Access the Gale databases using this helpful app. |
|
IMDB is the international move data base. It has millions of different records about movies, from the actors, to the soundtrack of each motion picture. It is your one stop shop for movie information. |
|
|
IOPscience express allows you to view and download the latest papers to appear in IOP-owned journals. You can also search for articles published by IOP over the last two years, and email information about selected articles to yourself or a colleague to enable access to the article from a desktop computer.
|
|
|
The National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Science360 for iPad provides easy access to engaging science and engineering images and video from around the globe and a news feed featuring breaking news from NSF-funded institutions. |
|
|
NYPL Biblion: World's Fair Collection Enter the World of Tomorrow and experience the 1939–40 New York World’s Fair through the collections of The New York Public Library! Biblion: The Boundless Library is designed to take you — all but literally — into the Library's legendary stacks, opening up hidden parts of the collections and the myriad story lines they hold and preserve. In this free app you will hold documents, images, films, audio, and essays directly from the collections right in your hands. |
|
|
See how the classics live on and join the “Afterlife of Shelley’s Circle.” What makes a monster? Is technology good or bad? What’s it like to live at the margins of society? Enter the NYPL stacks to see rare collections items and how they continue to inspire ideas and storytelling today. |
|
|
British Museum 19th Century Collection Readers can enjoy a treasure trove of books and materials from the British Museum!
|
|
Google search is the easiest way to search Google on the iPad. Just click the app and begin searching using the filters that you are used to including, everything, images and more, use voice controls to search also! |
|
|
Safari is iPad's web browser, it also doubles as a search engine for those who are looking for information on the web. Access to thousands of books, videos and images. |
 |
Keeping up with friends is faster than ever. |
|
Pinterest is a tool to help you find and share inspiration with others. Use it to collect images you love organize projects and more. |
