Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Research: Finding Reviews of Books and Movies

This guide provides links to resources about authors and their works of literature.

Publications for Reviews of Popular Books and Movies

Reviews of novels, poems, short stories, plays, and movies are published in a wide variety of magazines, journals, and newspapers, but some publications provide reviews that are of a higher quality, and are more credible, than others.

Here are some general interest publications that typcially offer reviews written by well-respected scholars and critics of literarture and movies:

  • New York Times Book Review
  • New York Review of Books
  • The New Yorker
  • Nation
  • New Republic
  • Washington Post
  • Christian Science Monitor
  • Sight and Sound
  • Film Comment

Where to Find Reviews

To find published reviews, you need to know the year that the version of the movie you are researching was released, or the year that the book was published.  While the dates in this chart are not true for every situation, they can be used as starting points to determine whether to use print indexes or online databases to located published reviews. 

Use this chart to help decide where to start looking for reviews:

To find reviews of

Release date

In this type of publication

Use this Type of Index

Index or Database Example

Movies

Before 1985

Magazines and journals

Print index

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature

 

 

 

Newspapers

Print Index

New York Times Index

 

 

After 1985

Magazines and journals

Database

Academic Search Complete

 

Ebsco Masterfile Premiere

 

ProQuest Platinum

 

 

 

Newspapers

Database

Custom Newspapers

 

Newspaper Source Plus

Lexis Nexis

Literature

Before 1985

Magazines and journals

Print Index

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature

 

Book Review Digest

 

 

 

Newspapers

Print Index

New York Times Index

 

 

After 1985

Magazines and Journals

Database

Literature Resources from Gale

 

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature

 

 

 

 Newspapers

Database

Custom Newspapers


Newspaper Source Plus


Lexis Nexis