Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Research: 3. Find Movie Reviews in Print Indexes

This guide provides links to resources about authors and their works of literature.

Tips for Finding Reviews in Print Indexes

You need to know the year that the version of the movie you are researching was released.  The date will determine which volume of a print index to use.

Using a print index such as the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, or The New York Times Index, look under the heading Motion Picture Reviews.  Then look under the title of the movie.

Locating Articles in Print Periodicals

Articles in periodicals published before the mid 1980's often are not found in databases.  Search CAYLIB, the library catalog, to determine if the Library owns the periodical for the date of the article needed.  Backfiles of some periodicals can be found in the Library's print periodicals collection or on microfilm.

If an article is not available in print, on microfilm, or from a database, a copy of the article may be requested using the ILLiad inter-library service.

Locating Articles in Databases

Search for the title of the periodical publication (NOT the title of the article) in the Library's Journal and Magazine List.

This may provide links to databases that include that periodical.  Use the information from the citation to search the database for the article.

Reading a Citation for a Movie Review

In the example below, several reviews are listed for the movie The Lord of the Rings.  The box to the left of the list explains how to read the first citation.