Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Literature Resources in Periodical Databases
Because articles in academic journals often focus on a very narrow aspect of an author's life, his or her works of literature, and other literary topics, your search terms can be specific.
Here are some examples of how to combine search terms:
"John Cheever" AND "The Swimmer"
"Ralph Ellison" AND "race relations"
Searching for Articles
The Library's Primo service allows you to search across most of our databases at one time- to find books, articles, and media items. This is a great place to start your research.
Click on this box to Search the Library catalog and databases. Click on other tabs to Browse a List of Library Databases, or to Search for a Journal by Title.
Databases A - Z is a complete list of each database the library subscribes to.
This is a good place to start if you have specialized research needs. For example, if you are looking for nursing articles, you may want to search just CINAHL,a nursing database. Click on this box to get started.
Journal Titles A-Z allows you to see if the Library has access to a specific journal.
Journal Titles A-Z searches all journal formats - print, database, and microfilm.
This is great place to start if you already know the title of the journal you are looking for. Click on this box to get started.
Gale Literary Sources
Search the following Gale Literature Resources all at once: Literature Criticism, Literature Resource Center (LRC), and LitFinder. Sponsored by SUNY Connect.
Critical Insights Into Literature
Classic and current literary criticism focusing on an individual author’s entire body of work or on a single work of literature; from the Critical Insights series of books published by Salem Press. Full-text. Sponsored by Cayuga.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III & IV
Dates vary. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts, history, social sciences, multi-cultural studies, economics, education, and general science disciplines. Journal content is unique to this database. Full-text. Sponsored by Cayuga Library.
Literary Reference Center
Dates vary. Information of thousands of literary works and their authors. Content includes reference works, books, journals, book reviews, poems, short stories, classic texts and author interviews. Full-text. Sponsored by SCRLC
LitFinder: Topic & Work Overviews
LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, and images. Sponsored by SUNY Connect.
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources. Full-text. Sponsored by Cayuga.