Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browsing for Ideas and Searching for Background Reading
These databases may help you find a topic that interests you. Current Issues Databases feature articles with different viewpoints about topics related to current events and social issues. Specialized Encyclopedias and Dictionaries include articles with background information and topic overviews. You might also use the information you find in these databases as sources for your research project.
Current Issues Databases
Dates vary. Multi-discipline. Full text articles from over 2,700 publications, including many peer-reviewed. Gale in Context
Points of View Reference Center
Essays presenting multiple sides of current issues, along with articles from political magazines, radio and television transcripts, and primary source documents. Full-text. EBSCO
Specialized Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Online reference library containing the full text of hundreds of reference titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles, featuring in-depth articles, images, sound files, animations, and videos. Full-text.
Ebooks (Gale- previously GVRL)
1998 - Present. Multidisciplinary specialized encyclopedias and reference sources. Full-text. Gale
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources. Full-text.