Periodical databases allow you to search for full-text articles (and citations to articles) by information such as keyword or subject, title, and author. This Library's subscription databases cover a variety of subject areas and types of periodicals.
When deciding which periodical database to use, consider these things:
The Library's subscription databases may be accessed from any computer on campus. To search these databases from off-campus, faculty and students must log-in using their MyCayuga username and password.
Before the advent of online databases, searching for articles published in periodicals was done using printed volumes called periodical indexes. Print indexes are still used to locate periodical articles that were published before the 1980s. These indexes can be found in the periodicals section of Cayuga's Library.
A periodical index arranges citations (which provide publication information such as author, title of article, title and date of publication, and page numbers) alphabetically by subject heading or major topic.
This is what a citation in a typical print index looks like:
This citation is listed under the heading BIOENGINEERED FOODS. The citation that follows includes: the title of the article [followed by a brief summary of the topic], the author of the article, the title of the periodical, the volume number, the page number, and the date of publication.
After finding a citation to a potential article in a print index, check to see if the periodical title is available in the library's collection of print periodicals by searching the online catalog. CAYLIB will indicate if the periodical is owned in print or on microfilm, and for what years.