LibGuides: History: Find Reference Sources

History Reference

To start your history research look for Library Reference for sources that contain important persons and dates, or summarize the main events of the period. Reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications provide:

background information,
overviews of topic issues,
basic facts about a topic,
definitions of related terms.

You can find history Reference material by browsing the library in the C, D, E and F call numbers, or by accessing our Reference Databases listed at right.

History Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library containing the full text of hundreds of reference titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles, featuring in-depth articles, images, sound files, animations, and videos. Full-text.
eBooks (Gale- previously GVRL) This link opens in a new window
1998 - Present. Multidisciplinary specialized encyclopedias and reference sources. Full-text. Gale
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection also includes Scholarly Articles, periodicals, a bibliography and external links.