LibGuides: Computer Science: Find Reference Sources

Using Background Readings

Reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field. Encyclopedia articles can provide:

background information
topic overviews
basic facts about a topic
definitions of related terms
lists of additional sources and recommended readings.

Print Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology/ Auburn Reference Ref. QA76.15 .H43 2009

World of Computer Science/Fulton Reference Fulton Ref QA76.15 .W637 2002

Best Bets for Journal Articles on Computer Science

Computer Science This link opens in a new window
1980 - Present. Articles from 800 journals and magazines related to trends and innovations in topics related to technology, telecommunications, robotics, electronics, and computer hardware and software. Full-text. Gale OneFile

Locating Print Sources

The Library owns specialized encyclopedias and other types of reference sources in many academic disciplines, or fields of study.

Titles in the reference collection can be searched in CAYLIB, the online catalog, using a general subject area as a search term. For example:

computer science AND encyclopedias

technology AND dictionaries

The reference shelves can also be browsed by general subject area, using the Library of Congress system of call numbers.

Always ask a reference librarian for additional help.