Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Periodical Articles for Research
Periodicals are publications that are issued on a regular, or periodic, interval, and they can be excellent sources of concise, focused articles on current events and social issues. Articles in periodicals typically address a very specific aspect of a larger topic. Different types of periodicals are suitable for different types of information, and are published at different intervals.
- Newspapers are good sources for coverage of news events, including local, state, national, and world news, and are published daily or weekly.
- Magazines are good sources for articles related to popular culture and social issues, and may be published weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly.
- Journals are good sources for scholarly research or topics related to specific professions, and may be published monthly, bi-monthly. or several times a year.
- Trade Journals are good sources of news and practical information related to specific professions or occupations, and may be published weekly or monthly.
Suggested Databases for Magazine Articles
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
1980 – Present. Articles from 13,000 magazines, journals and newspapers in the sciences, the arts, literature, and other subjects. Contains full-text of The New York Times from 1985, and the Times (London) from 1985. Also features videos on medical procedures, podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC. Many full-text. Gale
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Articles from over 8,000 journal, magazine, and newspapers related to current events, the arts & entertainment, literature, history, general science, medicine, law, psychology, religion, education, and cultural studies. Full-text. EBSCO
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
1980 - Present. Articles from magazines, journals in business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Many full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Multi-discipline. Full text articles from over 2,700 publications, including many peer-reviewed. Gale in Context
Suggested Databases for Newspaper Articles
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources, e.g. AP and UPI. EBSCO
News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Full-text and citations of articles from more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspaper titles. Included in Newsstand are the index to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Also includes images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Full-Text. Gale OneFile
New York Times, The (Gale Database) This link opens in a new window
This is a database with articles from The New York Times, 1985 - present. For access to the daily digital edition of The NYT, use the link above. Gale