Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Picking a Topic
The topic you select will depend on the purpose of your speech. For example, you might need to:
- educate or inform your audience
- pursuade your audience to agree with you
- demonstrate a technique or process
- debate a controversial issue
- commemorate or pay tribute to a person, place, or event.
Supporting Your Points
Regardless of the final project, incorporating information from reliable sources will help make your speech stronger, more interesting, and more credible. The reference sources, periodicals, and web resources suggested in this guide are good places to gather research.
Using Background Readings for Research
Reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good places to begin research on a topic. These reliable sources will help make your speech stronger, more interesting and more credible. Encyclopedia articles can provide:
- background information, topic overviews and basic facts about a topic
- definitions of related terms
- and lists of additional sources and recommended readings.
Sources for Background Information
eBooks (Gale- previously GVRL) This link opens in a new window
1998 - Present. Multidisciplinary specialized encyclopedias and reference sources. Full-text. Gale
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library containing the full text of hundreds of reference titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles, featuring in-depth articles, images, sound files, animations, and videos. Full-text.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. Multi-discipline. Full text articles from over 2,700 publications, including many peer-reviewed. Gale in Context
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Essays presenting multiple sides of current issues, along with articles from political magazines, radio and television transcripts, and primary source documents. Full-text. EBSCO