Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Background Readings
Reference sources such as specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications often are written by scholars in the field.
Reference sources can provide:
• background information
• topic overviews
• basic facts about a topic
• definitions of related terms
• lists of additional sources and recommended readings
Best Bets for Research Ideas
Best Bets are the librarian's top picks
to help you get started with your research!
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Dates vary. Multi-discipline. Full text articles from over 2,700 publications, including many peer-reviewed. Full-text. Sponsored by SCRLC.
Points of View Reference Center
Essays presenting multiple sides of current issues, along with articles from political magazines, radio and television transcripts, and primary source documents. Full-text. Sponsored by SUNY Connect.
Specialized Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Online reference library containing the full text of hundreds of reference titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles, featuring in-depth articles, images, sound files, animations, and videos. Full-text. Sponsored by Cayuga
GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library, or Gale Ebooks
GVRL contains articles from hundreds of subject specific encyclopedias.
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources. Full-text. Sponsored by Cayuga.