1. Types of Periodicals2. How to Find Periodical Articles
Combining Search TermsTips for Searching Databases
1. Plagiarism and Documentation
Evaluating Sources
Print Reference Sources
1. Find Book Reviews in Print Indexes2. Find Book Reviews in Databases3. Find Movie Reviews in Print Indexes4. Find Movie Reviews in Databases
This is the "Using the College Library" page of the "Literature Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Literature Research   Tags: english, literary_research, literature  

This guide provides links to resources about authors and their works of literature.
Last update: Oct 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.cayuga-cc.edu/literature  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Using the College LibraryPrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Get Help from a Librarian

Reference librarians are available during business hours to help students with research questions.

Students may call the reference desk, email a message, or IM the Reference Desk using the Meebo on the library website.

If you send an email message or IM asking for assistance, please be specific about your request:

  • what class are you taking?
  • what is the assignment?
  • what types of resources can you use?
  • where else have you looked?

If you send an IM, please leave your email address so that we can contact you if necessary

 

How to Log Into a Database From Off-Campus

To use library resources online, every student needs a library card.  This card allows students to access library databases from off-campus computers, and to request materials through ILLiad, the Library's inter-library loan service. See the Home tab for information on obtaining or updating a library card.

When working online from off-campus, when you attempt to access an online database through the library's web site, you will be prompted to enter a username and password.

  •  Your username is your last name followed by the first initial of your first name. Enter this information without spaces or capitalization.

                                   Example:  John Doe      username = doej

  • Your password is the 14 digit barcode number that is on your library card.

                                    Example: 02551000999999

 

  Get Copies of Books and Articles

Books and Media at this Library:  To obtain a book, audiorecording, or videorecording owned by this Library, or borrowed through Inter-library loan, students must visit the Library and check-out the material using a library card.

E-books and Periodical Articles: Many of the databases available through the Library contain full-text articles from books, magazines, newspapers, and journals. 

Books, Media and Periodical Articles Not Available at this Library: To obtain books, media, and copies of periodical articles that are not owned by this Library, and are not full-text in a Library database, students may request materials using the ILLiad inter-library loan service. To learn how to obtain and ILLiad account, see the Create an ILLiad Account box on this page.

Online Students: To obtain a book or media materials, students must visit the library and check-out the materials using their library card. It may be more convenient for some online students to visit a local library in their area.

 

Create an ILLiad Account

Books, media, or periodical articles not owned by Cayuga Community College libraries may be requested through the ILLiad Inter-library Loan Service.

If you have an ILLiad account, click the logon button. ILLiad Logon

 

If you need to create an ILLiad account, click the "First Time Users" button.

 

How Useful Is This Guide?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this content?
(1 = Not so much, 5 = Extremely!!)

Please provide comments to help improve this page:


Your email address, so we can get back to you:


Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait