Online Reference Sources
1. Types of Periodicals2. How to Find Periodical Articles
Combining Search Terms
1. Plagiarism and Documentation
Evaluating Sources
This is the "Home" page of the "History Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History Resources   Tags: history  

Get started with History Research
Last Updated: Sep 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.cayuga-cc.edu/general_history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Votes for Women

Find Articles

Look for articles on your topic in the library databases.  Use the Find Articles in Periodicals tab in this libguide for databases that contain history articles or connect below to CCC's History Database list.

All of the databases allow you to limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" or Scholarly articles.  The History Reference Center allows you to limit your search to Primary Sources if you need to. 

 

Introduction to History Research

Welcome to the CCC History Lib Guide.  This guide is intended to help you start your research projects and to guide you to the history sources that the Cayuga College Library provides.

 

Getting Started

If you are unfamiliar with your subject area, start by searching in the Reference section of the library.  Check out the tab for Find Reference Sources in this libguide. 

In Reference you may find a source that contains the important persons and dates or summarizes the main events of the period you are researching. The Reference section includes Encyclopedias and special subject encyclopedias, general histories and chronologies. 

If you are able to come into the library to browse,  the specialized history reference sources are located in the D, E and F call numbers. 

 

 

Look for Books

Next, look for books on your topic.  Use the Search CAYLIB for books and Media box below or check out the Find Books & Media tab in this libguide to locate books through Cayuga's on-line catalog. 

Books give you background material and add detail about the period that you are researching.  A book can help you identify the main currents of thought on your topic and discover which historians have written on this period of history. 

If you need a book that is not found in the CCC on-line catalog, you can borrow from other libraries by filling out a request using IlliadSee the "Create an Illiad Account" box to the right. 

 

Search CAYLIB for Books and Media

CAYLIB is used to search for books, videos, DVDs, audiobooks, music CDs, and periodical titles owned by this Library.

Type your search terms in the search box, then click Go or press Enter on the keyboard.


  Clear

 

Click this link to open the Caylib advanced search screen in a new tab.

History Subject Guide

Profile Image
Kathy Sipling, Librarian
Contact Info
Fulton Campus
315.592-4143x3073
siplingk@cayuga-cc.edu
Send Email
 

Create an ILLiad Account

Books, media, or periodical articles not owned by Cayuga Community College libraries may be requested through the ILLiad Inter-library Loan Service.

If you have an ILLiad account, click here to logon. ILLiad Logon

If you do not have an ILLiad account, please click on "First Time Users."

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip