This is the "Home" page of the "Women's History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Women's History   Tags: history  

Get started with research on Women in American History.
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cayuga-cc.edu/womens_history Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Votes for Women

Check out the history of the Women's Sufferage Movement on the Library of Congress "American Memory" site.

Find Articles

Look for articles on your topic in the library databases.  Use the Find Articles in Periodicals tab in this libguide for databases that contain history articles or connect to CCC's History Database list.

Search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers

Databases allow you to limit your search to "Peer Reviewed" or Scholarly articles

The History Reference Center database allows you to limit your search to Primary Sources if you need to. 

 

Introduction to History Research

Welcome to the CCC  Lib Guide to Women's History!!!

This guide is intended to help you start your research projects and to guide you to the sources in Women's history that the Cayuga College Library provides.

Also - Check out the Lib Guide to the History of the United States and the Guide to History Resources and the Harriet Tubman lib guide.

 

Getting Started

If you are unfamiliar with your subject area, check out the above tab for Find Reference Sources

Or search the Library on-line Reference sources by clicking on the box below:

Browse for topic ideas to start your research

In Reference you may find a source that contains the important persons and dates or summarizes the main events of the period you are researching. The Reference section includes Encyclopedias and special subject encyclopedias, general histories and chronologies.  

If you are able to come into the library to browse, the specialized history reference sources are located in the D, E and F call numbers.

 

Look for Books

Next, look for books on your topic.  Use the Search CAYLIB for books and Media box below or check out the Find Books & Media tab in this libguide to locate books through Cayuga's on-line catalog. 

Search this library for books and media

Books give you background material and add detail about the period that you are researching.  A book can help you identify the main currents of thought on your topic and discover which historians have written about this period of history. 

If you need a book that is not found in the CCC on-line catalog, you can borrow from other libraries by filling out a request using IlliadSee the "Create an Illiad Account" on the Find books & media page

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Kathy Sipling, Librarian
Contact Info
Fulton Campus
315.592-4143x3073
siplingk@cayuga-cc.edu
Send Email

QUESTIONS?

Don't hesitate to contact the Library...

CALL

Auburn (315) 294-8596 

Fulton (315) 593-9319

EMAIL
cay_ref@cayuga-cc.edu

CHAT

Chat with an AskUs 24/7 Librarian anytime day or night, any day of the week.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip