LibGuides: Women's History: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Women's History

Women and the National Experience by Skinner; Ellen Skinner
Call Number: Fulton HQ1410.W644 2003
ISBN: 9780205743155
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Eighty Years and More by Elizabeth Cady Stanton
Call Number: JK 1899.S7 AS 2002
ISBN: 9781426457029
Publication Date: 2007-02-14

Find Primary Sources

To find Primary Sources, search for letters, diaries, autobiographies, government documents of the period, etc. For example, search for "Abraham Lincoln and diary" or "Abraham Lincoln and government documents".

You can also add "Primary Sources" to your key word searches in library databases, for example: Civil War and Primary Sources.

Primary Sources in Library Databases

Milestone Documents in American History This link opens in a new window
This source represents a unique and innovative approach to history reference. Each entry offers the full text of the document and an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Milestone Documents in American History is a great reference tool for students conducting primary source research. Salem Press
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection also includes Scholarly Articles, periodicals, a bibliography and external links.
U.S. History This link opens in a new window
1980 - Present. Articles from over 500 magazines and journals related to events in US History that present current thought as well as scholarly work established in the field. Full text. Gale OneFile
World History This link opens in a new window
1980 - Present. Articles from journals providing a balanced coverage of events in world history from publications for the novice historian as well as the advanced academic researcher. Many full-text. Gale OneFile

Primary Sources on the Internet

American Memory
American Memory is a scholarly database of American History from the Library of Congress. This database is a good source for historical photographs and information. There are notable sections on Native Americans, women's sufferage, the military and war, and African American history. Check it out!
EyeWitness to History.com
Links to primary sources for historical events such as World War II, the Middle Ages and the Civil War.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
NY Heritage Organization
This on-line databases contains thousands of historical photos, diaries, newspapers, maps and other items from 160 collections of libraries, historical societies, museums and archives across New York State.
Milestone Documents
This website contains a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Digital History Primary Source Documents
Browse more than 600 annotated documents from the Collection written by George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and many others dealing with American politics, diplomacy, and social history.
Source Documents in US History
Primary sources in World History