LibGuides: Women's History: Find Reference Sources

History Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference library containing the full text of hundreds of reference titles, including dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles, featuring in-depth articles, images, sound files, animations, and videos. Full-text.
eBooks (Gale- previously GVRL) This link opens in a new window
1998 - Present. Multidisciplinary specialized encyclopedias and reference sources. Full-text. Gale
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The collection also includes Scholarly Articles, periodicals, a bibliography and external links.

History Reference

To start your historical research, look for library reference sources that contain important persons, dates or summaries of the main events of the period. These sources, specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks, are good places to begin research on a topic. Articles and entries in these publications provide

background information
overviews of topic issues
basic facts about a topic
and definitions of related terms.

To find reference material, you might browse the library shelves on the lower level in the C, D, E and F call number areas (looking for the prefix "REF" in the call numbers or access any of the reference databases listed on this page.

The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers

The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers by Eleanor Roosevelt; John F. Sears (Editor)
Call Number: Available through the Gale Virtual Reference database.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This e-book covers Eleanor Roosevelt's writings and speeches between the years of 1945 to 1948.

Recommended Reference Book Resources

Black Women in America by Darlene Clark Hine (Editor)
Call Number: Fulton Ref. E 185.86.B542 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
Chronology of Women's History by Kirstin Olsen
Call Number: Fulton Ref. HQ1121.O47 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-30
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by Eileen Chang (Editor); Joyce Oldham Appleby (Editor); Joanne L. Goodwin (Introduction by)
Call Number: Fulton Ref HQ1410.E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-03